Here is a great article about how more single women own their own homes!

Why pay rent when you can pay a little bit more a month and build your equity?” argues Brenda Bouw, former Spectator business editor and the author of Home Girl: The Single Woman’s Guide to Buying Real Estate in Canada. “A lot of women don’t want to wait around to be married or remarried.”

Jen McNaughton, a 32-year-old single homeowner who purchased her first property in 2003, agrees.

“I didn’t want to live with my parents and I didn’t want to pay rent. I wanted to invest, as opposed to investing in somebody else’s property.”

She’s not alone. A recent survey conducted by Royal LePage of 1,002 women across Canada showed 30 per cent of single women who have never been married own their own house.

This is wonderful! I think this is an important step for women to achieve their own financial security. After all, life doesn’t begin after marriage….

