To keep informed about the calendars, to share them with your friends, and keep up to date about my 100 Calendar Challenge sign up for our Facebook page: The 2011 Dreams for Women Calendars Project!
WHAT IS THE 100 CALENDAR CHALLENGE?
Once again, I’m taking The 100 Calendar Challenge for The Antigone Foundation! That means that I have to personally sell 100 CALENDARS to friends, family and Antigone friends! I know that I can do it!
WHAT IS DIFFERENT ABOUT THE CHALLENGE THIS YEAR?
This year, for every ten calendars that I sell, I will get a pie thrown in my face and videotape it for all you to see. Why would I do such a thing? Well, other than the fact that I like pie (which is always delicious), I also understand that in the modern world of fundraising, people like to see results from their volunteer contributions.
And while the results that I have in mind are hundreds of young women getting leadership training, we all know that the more effective motivator is the potential of seeing someone you like and respect (right people?) doing something ridiculous and embarrassing.
And so, I combed through fundraising ideas and thought about doing things like shaving my head (I am sure that would work out wonderfully, but then I would just confirm feminist stereotypes…), shaving my eyebrows (that would just look weird), and settled finally on the comedic gold of getting pied in the face.
As you will see in a later Challenge update, pieing people in the face has a long history from the three Stooges to Laurel and Hardy. And then of course there is Amanda Reaume.
HOW YOU CAN HELP?
Buy a calendar from me. Post how many you are buying on the ’5000 Calendar Project’ Facebook Wall or in the comments of this blog and then go get your calendar at here. They are currently 20% off for a limited time – so act fast if you want the discount!
WHY AM I DOING THIS?
For those of you who know me, you know I’m very passionate about The Antigone Foundation and the work that we do! I am particularly passionate about this 2011 Dreams for Women calendar! Not only is it beautiful (thank you contributors and designers!) but it is also an important part of The Antigone Foundation’s plans to help girls and young women take on the world and take up leadership positions in issues relating to politics, business and activism.
We want to inspire young women, to make them think about women’s rights and to provide them with the support and tools that they need to become leaders and make a difference! That’s why this year’s calendar is going to support a Dreams for Women Scholarship for US and Canadian students and a Canadian Dreams for Women Leadership Tour (scheduled for Fall 2011) where we will stop in at least 5 cities (we hope to be able to do more!) and provide leadership training to girls and young women!
These are just TWO of the ways that we will be celebrating The Antigone Foundation’s founding!
WANNA TAKE THE 10 CALENDAR, 25 CALENDAR or 50 CALENDAR CHALLENGE?
If you want to support The Antigone Foundation and women’s leadership in Canada consider Taking the Challenge! You do not have to get pies thrown in your face! All you have to do is tell your friends and contacts about your challenge and try to reach your goal! Email antigonemagazine@hotmail.com for information about how to participate. All challenge participants will be thanked on our blog. Anyone who sells at least 25 calendars will get a FREE print of their favourite postcard. Those who sell 50 will get a FREE framed print. Those who sell more will get a framed print and an Antigone t-shirt!
BE SURE TO GET YOUR CALENDAR TODAY! Write ‘Pie Girl’ in the Comment Section so that I know you bought a calendar from me!
Thanks! You guys totally rock!
Amanda Reaume
Executive Director
The Antigone Foundation
